The Founders Lifetime Achievement Award

The Founders Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the exceptional contributions of members that have participated for more than 20 years in the development of Great Basin Anthropology. Contributions can be through research and publications and through distinguished service that improves education, communication, and interaction between individuals, groups, and various state, federal, and local agencies.

Nominees must have a publication record of major contributions and/or a record of distinguished service. The service and research contributions of a nominee may be in the fields of archaeology, biological anthropology, cultural anthropology, and/or linguistics: or in ancillary disciplines of the earth, biological, or social sciences, so long as these have contributed the anthropological study of the peoples and cultures of the Great Basin.

Founders Recipients:

  • 2008 Donald and Catherine Fowler, 31st Conference, Portland, OR
  • 2010 Joel Janetski, 32nd Conference, Layton, UT
  • 2012 Donald Grayson / Mel Aikens, 33rd Conference, Stateline, NV
  • 2014 David Madsen / Dave Thomas, 34th Conference, Boise, ID
  • 2016 Robert Bettinger / Robert Elston, 35th Conference, Reno, NV
  • 2018 James O’Connell / Max Pavesic, 36th Conference, SLC, UT
  • 2021 Claude N. Warren / Ruth Gruhn, 37th Conference, Las Vegas, NV
  • 2023 Charlotte Beck / Tom Jones / Richard Hughes, 38th Conference, Bend, OR

Presidential Special Achievement Award

The Presidential Special Achievement Award is chosen by the GBAA President and awarded to an individual or organization who has made significant contributions to Great Basin anthropology or archaeology.

Presidential Recipients:

  • 2016 Reba Rauch, 35th Conference, Reno, NV
  • 2018 Far Western, 36th Conference, Salt Lake City, UT
  • 2021 William Cannon, 37th Conference, Las Vegas, NV
  • 2023 Lisbeth Louderback, 38th Conference, Bend, OR

Comments are closed.